Thoughts After a Recent Trip to the Tar Sands | Earth First! Newswire Re-post

by Sarah Stock / Canyon Country Rising Tide I feel powerless. I feel beaten down. I hear heavy machinery in my sleep. I see torn up earth when I close my eyes. Piles of On site processing facility in rapid construction phase. mangled trees, still green from the life they just had, pulled up and pushed down into heaps at the bottom of a strip mine by the force of mindless greed that fuels the destruction of this earth. I see a tunnel bore into the side of the earth, oozing out a slow stream of black sticky tar, the remnants of ancient life that when burned unleash toxins and greenhouse gases that are dooming the world that I know now. Migratory birds that mark the seasons slowly stop coming back. I see a buck in the aspens and then notice that he has a large circular hairless growth on his side. When I swim in my river, the water that’s always brought me a deep calm, awe, and connection to the life force, I now wonder what is in it. I think of the fracking upstream. I think of the

Source: Thoughts After a Recent Trip to the Tar Sands | Earth First! Newswire

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

